Musical TMI Chairs

Right, since I’ve got a few blog posts lined up (all neatly noted down at various ungodly hours of the night), I thought I’d ease you in. TMI Tuesday (on a Wednesday) is musical this week. Not musical as in “I think I’ll try defying gravity”, but musical as in songs. Anyway, you’ll find out. Do read on.

-

Answer the following questions using only song titles. Make sure you link to the song or the song’s lyrics so that we can listen to or read the song.

1. What is your present state of mind?

Kashmir- Led Zeppelin

Oh let the sun beat down upon my face, stars to fill my dream
I am a traveler of both time and space, to be where I have been
To sit with elders of the gentle race, this world has seldom seen
They talk of days for which they sit and wait and all will be revealed

 

2. How do you feel about your spouse, significant other, or someone you lust for?

Fairytale- Alexander Rybak

I’m in love with a fairytale even though it hurts
‘Cause I don’t care if I lose my mind, I’m already cursed

 

3. Describe your job.

Don’t Stop Me Now- Queen

Tonight I’m gonna have myself a real good time
I feel alive and the world I’ll turn it inside out – yeah
And floating around in ecstasy
So don’t stop me now don’t stop me
‘Cause I’m having a good time having a good time

I’m a shooting star leaping through the sky
Like a tiger defying the laws of gravity
I’m a racing car passing by like Lady Godiva
I’m gonna go go go
There’s no stopping me

4. What are you hungry for?

Hong Kong Garden- Siouxie and the Banshees (although I realize that’s a song about abuse in Chinese takeaway restaurants… Still, I could murder a chicken chow-mien.)

Harmful elements in the air
Cymbals crashing everywhere
Reap the fields of rice and reeds
While the population swells

Junk floats on polluted water
An old custom to sell your daughter
Would you like number 23
Leave your yens on the counter please
Hong Kong garden

Tourists swarm to see your face
Confucius has a puzzling grace
Disoriented you enter in
Unleashing scent of wild jasmine

5. What’s your favorite color?

Geek in the Pink- Jason Mraz

I could be the one to turn you out
we could be the talk across the town
don’t judge it by the color, confuse it for another
you might regret what you let slip away
like the geek in the pink
well like the geek in the pink, yeah, haha
the geek in the pink

6. What gets you excited?

Singin’ in the Rain- Gene Kelly

I’m singing in the rain
Just singin’ in the rain
What a glorious feeling
I’m happy again

I’m laughing at clouds
So dark up above
The sun’s in my heart
And I’m ready for love

7. Who do you think you are?

Love Machine- Girls Aloud

Come take my hand
Understand that you can
You’re my man and I need you tonight
Come make my dreams
Honey hard as it seems
Loving me is as easy as pie, I

I’m just a love machine
Feeding my fantasy
Give me a kiss or three
And I’m fine
I need a squeeze a day
Instead of this negligee
What will the neighbours say
This time

Bonus: Describe your life. Feel free to elaborate on your song choice.

Una Musica Brutal- Gotan Project

I don’t really understand the lyrics, since they’re in Spanish, but it’s all about the sensual tango melody. Imagining a strapping gaucho demanding you dance with him, pulling you on to the floor into a tango.

I don’t know. Kinda feels like my life.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great answers! Singin’ in the Rain is one of Jill’s favorites, and Kashmir is one of mine. A lot of these songs were new to us, though, so thanks for bringing them to our attention.

    -Jack

    Reply

Whisper to me

