The Mr Bergstrom Moment

Lately, I’ve been thinking alot about a particular episode of The Simpsons. The episode in question is a classic, in which Lisa falls in love with her substitute teacher, Mr Bergstrom. It made quite an impact on me, as I fell enamoured with the man himself!

I think everybody has had that Mr Bergstrom Moment. That moment where you fall in love with a guy/girl who is older, has more life experience and is on the same level as you. It could be a teacher, a babysitter, the girl or guy next door, literally anyone.

Is there something wrong with it? I should say not. It’s perfectly healthy to have a crush on someone older than you. Just as long as you know you aren’t causing any harm with it, and that you realise it might never be more than just a crush.

Which is kinda the mistake I make all the time. You see, I have spent my entire life looking for the satisfaction that comes from a Mr Bergstrom moment.

I thought I found it a couple of years ago. I fell head-over-heels in love with my substitute teacher. He was a hot mess and a total prick, but I was very much in love with this man. When I discovered he had been replaced by another subsitute teacher, I was sick for a week.

You know what the sick, fucked up thing is? I did it again. I fell in love with another member of staff at school, one of the pedagogues, and I thought he understood me. He seemed to be on the same level as me and we communicated well together. I cried when he went away.

When he came back, I found him dead-annoying. Especially for waking me up at 7 in the morning, SINGING.

I never found the perfect Mr Bergstrom. I wonder if I still need him?

So, dear readers. Have you ever been in love with a teacher? Felt the hots for a babysitter? Or something to that liking? Please, feel free to share. I’d love to know more about this phenomenon.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. None of the teachers at my school seemed that fanciable. The girls all seemed to like one of the music teachers, who was moody and ugly, and the boys all liked one of the maths teachers, who was very pretty but always turned up looking a mess and covered in loads of make-up. She used to turn up hungover sometimes and make one of the boys take the lesson for her while she sat at the back of the room drinking water.

    Our teachers were great…

    Reply
    • I didn’t exactly have my pick either. This all happened in the early days of high school, in the second year. The rest was ghastly….

      Reply
  2. No. Never had that sensation at all. I guess I was just more interested in people my age…!

    Reply
    • With me it was just a need to escape from the dredge of the other people around me. I’ve always liked slightly older people.

      Reply

Whisper to me

