Red Rant

I love writing Red. I love it so much, I want to marry it and have its cute, ginger babies. It is the most exciting thing I’ve ever done in my life, and I can’t wait to get it finished and possibly publish it.

I hate writing Red.

Don’t get me wrong, the first paragraph wasn’t a joke. I do love writing the story and taking the journey with the characters, but shiiiiiit, it is costing me blood, sweat and tears.

It’s driving me insane. This is mostly due to two things.

1) My instinct

It is such an instinct-driven story that, although I have an idea of where it’s going, I have no idea where my mind is going to take me on the way there. I hate not knowing where it is going. I like structure.

I made no plans with this. No outline, no nothing. I’m shit at making an outline, because I change so much on the way. That just goes to show I’m an amateur at what I do.

Or maybe I’ve become too fucking jaded due to all these writing how-to books I’ve been reading.

I don’t know. I’m just a big potterer and I suck, I guess.

 

2) My timing

I have MASSIVE problem with time management. In the sense that I do so much of my work at night, it makes me sleep till the afternoon. So, the next day is out of balance as well, seeing as I tend to wake up between one-thirty and three o’clock. Latest I ever managed was FOUR O’CLOCK IN THE AFTERNOON!

It has taken a strain on my health, in the sense that I do not sleep right, I have a constant headache and my eyes hurt. I swear, it’s like someone’s constantly smacking me in the face.

Not to mention the frequent bouts of hyperventilation… and the amount of mustard cheese eaten after midnight…

If any of you writers have tips on how to combat this, please don’t hesitate to comment and make my life a little more tolerable.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Whisper to me

