You and Me

Thanks for giving me the prompt, Andy.

 

You and Me

I don’t remember what I was thinking at the exact moment my car spun out of control. Maybe it was something profound, maybe it was just “Shit, I’m going to die”. Or maybe I wasn’t even thinking. Maybe my head was just a flurry of white noise.

My girlfriend was in the car with me. She’s alright, she’s a strong one. Her soul isn’t wilted and bruised like mine. She sits next to my bed, holding my hand, telling me silly things to cheer me up.

I love my girlfriend. I love her so much, it makes me sick. And going through this, going through hell together… it made me realise something.

I never want to let her go.

“Eve?”

Eve was sitting on the recliner next to my hospital bed. She had her eyes closed, but wasn’t sleeping. I knew how Eve slept. She would always have this cheeky smile on her face, as if she was dreaming about something naughty.

Her eyes opened and she smiled at me. “Yes, Jay? Do you need something? Should I get the nurse?”

“No, no, I’m fine. I wanted to ask you something.”

“Ask me anything. I’m here for you.”

“Will you give me your hand?”

She reached out and put her hand in mine. I held on to it tightly, like a little child, clinging to his mother on the first day of school.

“I don’t have anything fancy prepared. I don’t know what words I’m supposed to say. Because I can’t describe what I feel for you. You’re my guardian angel and if it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have survived. And I never want to let you go. I want to spend the rest of my life with you.”

She smiled brightly. “Are you sure you’re not delirious?”

“I’ve never been more lucid in my entire life. I hope you don’t mind, but I haven’t got a ring to give you. Just all my love.”

“Rings mean nothing to me. Your love is enough.”

“In that case… will you do me the honor of becoming my wife? Will you marry me, Eve?”

“Yes, Jay. I will. I love you with all my heart and if I had lost you, I would have died inside. Can I come and hug you?”

“Of course!” I said, my eyes tearing up. She sat down on my bed and snuggled up to me.

“You and me, Jay. Forever?”

“Forever.”

I love Eve. And I thank God every single day for bringing her my way.

My love.

My angel.

Forever.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Whisper to me

