Masquerade

 

Masquerade

We all wear masks. Real ones, metaphorical ones, you name it. We wear them.

All we want in life it to have somebody break through the mask and see you for who you really are.

And when that happens, when the mask finally slips and you look right into the eyes of the person that saved your life, you’ll feel again.

He broke through mine.

On a Saturday morning, he whispered into my ear. Words I’ve been waiting to hear for such a long time.

“Don’t be afraid to be you.”

As I sobbed, he repeated the words over and over again.

“Don’t be afraid. Don’t.”

And for the first time, I wasn’t. My head cleared.

And I felt at peace with myself.

We all play a game of masquerade. But when it’s over… you’ll be glad.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Whisper to me

