Mirror

I’ve been experimenting with my new camera, certainly the best of my Christmas gifts.

In an attempt to take a topless pic of myself, I stood up on my chair, and stood in front of the mirror. And I was faced with me. Full, frontal me. Well, the top half, anyway.

Studying the pic made me think of imperfections. The bumps and welts that make a body to what it is.

I could analyze this pic to the nth degree, and worry about the comments this might get. But for once, I’m not going to.

The body is glory and sex and luminescence. Imperfections are perfect.

Now, look at me. Analyze me, if you will. But beyond the scars and bobbles, do you see the real me that lies beneath? The vibrant, ambitious and sexy woman I’ve become?

Look in the mirror and tell me what you see.

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I know you were scared of posting this so I want to say that I admire your bravery.

    Reply
  2. I see someone courageous.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful woman. xx

    Reply
  4. We see a beautiful, powerful and sexual woman, an intelligent free spirit who could not only deliver a groundbreaking quotation like “The body is glory and sex and luminescence”, but also follow it up with a statement as profound as “Imperfections are perfect.” You truly encapsulate an attitude that should be more prevalent in the world. Thank you for honoring us with glimpses of your beauty.

    As an aside, I must state that when we were done drinking in your sensuality, we tried to count the number of Coke bottles in the background. But then we resumed admiring you.

    Reply
  5. Wayne

     /  December 27, 2011

    you are beautiful

    Reply
  6. Tamara de Lempicka

     /  December 31, 2011

    Jilly, you are brave and beautiful. What a wonderful way to help yourself get to know your new and changing body, and to be be intentional about whatever internal identity adjustments the external changes might bring.

    May all of us who are on similar journeys be so strong!

    Reply

Whisper to me

