Stealing for a New Beginning

Upon the dawn of a new year, I have decided to sneak in my Sunday Stealing already, since it sums up everything quite nicely. If you want to look back to 2011, do join in.

 

Sunday Stealing: The 2011 Year End  Meme

Cheers to all of us thieves!

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Kiss! Make friends! Talk about sex in a very open and public way! Approached people, published a story!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I tend not to make new year’s resolutions, but a big one was going through with my gastric bypass and I did, and that turned out spic and span. I guess I’ll make some for next year, but I don’t know for sure.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Various friends and neighbours welcomed a child into their lives. I don’t exactly remember who, but I wish them all the best.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

In a very staggering and macabre feat, four people on my street died in the space of a few months. Including the 96 year old woman from across the street, who I’ve known since we moved here.

5. What countries did you visit?

The UK. And France, passing through with the Eurostar, I guess 🙂

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

Romance.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Oddly enough, I’ll most remember the day I was in hospital when I found out Bin Laden had been killed. I also watched the Royal Wedding there.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting published.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not writing a longer, novel sized piece.


10. What was the best thing you bought?

My e-reader! Excellent birthday gift.

11. Whose behavior merited celebration?

In my circle, or in general? I have no idea…

12. Whose behavior made you appalled and disgusted?

The GOP candidates. Fans of various artists including Katy Perry and Justin Bieber.

13. What song will always remind you of 2011?

No matter gay, straight, or bi,
Lesbian, transgendered life
I’m on the right track baby
I was born to survive

– Lady Gaga, Born this Way

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Kissing! It’s lush, don’t you know!

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Buying books I never read, seeing as I find myself selling all of them at this moment :p

16. Did you fall in love in 2011?

I fell head over heels in love with the city of London. Again.

17. What was your favorite new TV program?

Modern Family. I missed most of it, but it just seemed exquisitly brilliant.

18. What was the best book you read?

The Yorkshire Pudding Club. Can’t remember the author but the book made me wobbly. Close second are Julie & Julia by Julie Powell and Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

19. What one thing would have made your year measurably more satisfying?

More luck.

20. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

As “Young woman who doesn’t know what to wear since she’s losing weight and will probably never fit in her old clothes again.”

21. What kept you sane?

Twitter.

22. Who did you miss?

Whenever I was not in London, I missed my friends there.

23. Who was the best new person you met?

Every single person I met! Such amazing people. Thanks for everything.

24. Tell us a valuable lesson you learned in 2011?

Pancakes are better when fresh. Taxis in London are hard to come by at 4.30 am. Some people are dickheads.

25. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“I did it my way.”

And that’s that.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Some people are not only dickheads, they are also fucktards!

    Happy New Year!!

    http://momentsofintrospection.blogspot.com/2011/12/sunday-stealing-2011-year-end-meme.html

    Reply
  2. love your #23 answer makes you a very appealing new friend

    Reply
  3. We are proud of your accomplishments in 2011! We hope that 2012 is just as prosperous and fun for you! Don’t fret over your supposed failure in not writing something longer. It will happen. And your lesson, “Some people are dickheads”? Well said.

    Reply

Whisper to me

