Sex and Heaven

I wasn’t raised very religious. Officially, I’m a Christian, but a very liberal one. Never been a fan of the whole fanatical shebang.

A few months ago, I stumbled upon a documentary, about the purity culture in a small town in Texas. It was down to religion, and to one man preaching “the word of God” about sex. When I heard this man speak, I, for the first time in my life, felt ashamed on behalf of the religion I was raised with.

My RE teachers were all liberal people, who showed more interest in teaching us self-reflection and culture than the “laws of the Bible”. Therefore, as both a sex blogger and a Christian, I felt appalled at this man’s words.

I’m not an expert on the matter, therefore I apologize if any of this seems off to you.

But this man’s approach to sexuality (a natural and wonderful thing) seems to be nipping it in the bud before it ever manifests itself. Telling blatant lies about how “all gay men have AIDS”, “condoms never work because the material has invisible holes in it” and such and such leads to shocking effects.

Teens were heard saying that they practised anal sex and oral sex, because “it’s not proper sex”.

They interviewed health care professionals from this particular town. One nurse in particular was appalled. She said she saw more teen pregnancies and STIs from the teens in this town than anywhere else. Numbers were alarming.

All this lead to me being appalled for days.

And I wondered… if all of the Bible was true, was this really the message they got from it? I genuinely thought that Christianity was all about loving your fellow-man and never discriminating anybody.

Or at least, that’s what I took away from my education.

But as I sit here, writing this, I seem to remember even my favorite RE teacher (a spirited older woman, with aspirations to become a priest) questioning it all.

And I can’t blame her.

I’m finding it hard to believe that this was what they had intended to happen when they wrote the Bible. But it seems that religion in general does not approve of anything sexual. Which is a shame in this more liberal day and age.

Gay people are not “harmful” in any way. Everybody can get AIDS. Birth control helps. Purity is a myth (or at least it is to me). Please keep this in mind.

I did not mean to offend anyone with this article. Again, my opinion is my own. Your mileage may vary.

Thanks for reading.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Whisper to me

