Office Supplies Whore

I have a weird kink.

Well, I don’t know if it’s a kink or an obsession or anything… but it’s there. Every time I go to the store, it sends me towards pens, bloc notes and staplers alike.

I am an office supplies whore. 

Wait, it’s not what you think!

I don’t fuck pens or anything like that. I just have a very unusual obsession with buying office supplies. And the fact that I submitted a story to the first ever office-supplies themed erotica anthology doesn’t really help.*

I have many pens. Unused, all of them.

Countless empty notebooks, bought with the promise of keeping a diary, writing outlines for stories, study notes… I don’t use them.

I’m pretty sure I have about sixty highlighter pens, all in various colors from various points of my school career.

Binders that aren’t used.

A desk chair I never sit on.

And the list goes on.

I guess it is really an obsession.

But office supplies are not supposed to be an obsession. When this started, I was at an age where I was supposed to be swooning over hot celebrities (which I admittedly also did), not fawning over a Parker fountain pen!

But I can’t help it.

There is something very satisfactory in enjoying the weight of a new pen, running your fingers along the leather of a new date planner or the first time you use a stapler.

Blame my education, but I am totally gaga for anything that belongs on a desk. If I were to design my own office or study space, it would be overstuffed with paperclips and thumbtacks and the likes.

Yes, I have a weird streak. What of it?

I embrace my geekery about this and many other things. And I will never stop buying pens and notebooks for as long as I’m still able to write the smut I produce.

 

 

* It’s called FELT TIPS, edited by Tiffany Reisz. It’s for charity and it’s awesome. She’s possibly still looking for stories, so info can be found here.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. You are not alone! I too have what Hylas calls a ‘stationery fetish’ (although it’s not a fetish, it amuses him to think of it that way). I am a total sucker to stationery stores, and have far too many pens, gorgeous notebooks and folders and vivids and colouring pencils and and and and 🙂

    xx Dee

    Reply
  2. I went through a phase as a teenager of being obsessed with buying left-handed fountain pens. Really effing expensive ones. Now I’m a little addicted to multi-colour Uniball pens…Oh the colours!

    I also would be utterly lost without my work notebooks I have in a variety of shades.

    Jilly, you are not alone…
    LP x

    Reply
  3. I also need to assure you that you are not alone! I can spend HOURS in an office supply store, fawning over the pens and staplers and desktop caddies and… *happy sigh* I am more apt to compliment someone on how well his/her pen writes than I am about their outfit, cologne, or shoes (although shoes have been gaining in popularity with me as of late). And you should see the things I can do with paper clips! 😉

    Reply
  4. I am like this with pens, notebooks, and post it’s. My husband is very annoyed, but I can’t seem to help myself. So you are not alone. :0)

    Reply

Whisper to me

