What I Did On My Much-Needed Break

Eager readers might have noticed that I’ve not been feeling myself lately. So, what does one do when one’s lost touch with herself?

One buggers off for four days, of course.

It wasn’t meant to be four days. But after I discovered that I was more relaxed on the dentist’s chair, having a root canal done than working on my blog, the decision was quickly made. I needed the rest. I needed to focus on something else than whatever it was I was up to. Plus, I had a fucking huge stack of books I wanted to read. I mentally wrote up more blog posts than I could ever imagine, but the memory of the words has faded.

So, here’s a run-through of what I did. I will elaborate more in future posts. I finished The 52 Seductions, Girl with a One-Track Mind (I’m meeting her next week! WOOOP!), Miss Moneypenny’s Career Advice for Ambitious Women and How to be a Woman. I’ve started reading The Female Eunuch, Catch -22 and Moab is my Washpot. So far, I’m not loving Female Eunuch. But then, I’ve only read like two pages. I should read more of it. Question is, will I feel more like a strident feminist when I finish it? Or will I want to punch Germaine Greer in the face?

Judging from the way it’s written, it feels like Eunuch is a bit dated. Although Germaine herself writes in her new foreword that it’s not. I’m determined to see it through and read more of it, but it just feels like How to Be A Woman is much more suited to this day and age. Of course, that one was published last year… Anyway, I’ll persevere and read Eunuch!

Catch-22 is a godsend. It’s just… oh my God, it’s so fucking good! I’m pretty sure I’m missing the point entirely, but it’s one of the best things I’ve ever read.

I found Moab between a pile of books my cleaning lady had so helpfully removed from sight. I’ve been meaning to read it for a while now, and I don’t regret for one moment that I started reading it last night. Stephen often strays from the events that took place to write about the things floating around in his mind. I really don’t mind it at all. In fact, I love it. I actually feel like a smarter human being now that I know all about what he thinks. It’s like I’ve been granted access to his enormous and very sexy brain. Like I’m walking around in the vast library that is his mind.

I realized that if I somehow could learn only half that Stephen knows, I’d be unstoppable. I’d be like this massive brain machine. A very sexy, massive brain machine. Maybe I’m overreacting.

It helps when you picture Stephen Fry reading it to you, by the way. Adds to the experience.

I managed a lot of other stuff too. I wrote some of the first bit of Awkward Soup, my novel-in-progress. And I wrote this retrospective thing on my teenage years and what being a teenager is like now. Honestly, I like that idea more than just writing about crushes. I’m taking the laptop with me to London next week, so I can catch up on writing.

I’m loving how Awkward Soup is shaping up in my head, by the way. It’s the first time I’ve seen something clearly. So, yay, I think!

This time next week, I’ll be in London. I’m incredibly chuffed about that, although I spent some days considering cancelling the whole trip. But I really can’t wait to just dive in and spend two weeks there. I’ll first go to Bristol for Eroticon 2012, which you’ll be hearing more about later. And I’ll finish my trip by volunteering at the Semi-finals of the Erotic Awards! The motherfucking Erotic Awards, people! That’s serious shit, right there. I never expected ever being a part of this, and I’m so ridiculously excited that I am going to be there!

If I can manage, I’ll probably go to the Finals in May. Night of the Senses. Fucking aye. I remember looking on the website last year and thinking “If only I hadn’t missed that.”. Now I might actually be there. That’s freaky.

Anyway, that’s all you need to know for now. I’ll be posting more regularly now, but I’m going to try and take occasional breaks. Because even Bare Naked Ladies need an occasional lie-down.

This is a thing that happened.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Told ya Catch-22 is awesome 🙂
    Nice to see you back.

    Reply

Whisper to me

