The Mission Log : Six Months Later

Six months ago, at my lowest ebb, I decided to turn the tide. Inspired by The Goddess Gala Darling, I wrote a mission statement. In it, I reflected on what I felt needed to happen in my life.

Since it`s now six months later… and so much has happened… I have decided to update and adjust. And, of course, provide a running comment, seeing as that`s apparently what I do best.

This was the original, way back on January 15th…

~

I am at my best when I am happy, creatively buzzed and giving it my all. .
I will try to prevent times when I am needy, downtrodden and not myself. .
I will enjoy my work by finding employment where I can I love doing things that require my creative eye. .
I will find enjoyment in my personal life through reading books I can get lost in. .
I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as writing, talking, creative thinking and listening. .
I can do anything I set my mind to. I will start my own publishing company. .
My life’s journey is creativity in motion, for me, because I want to learn and I have faith that I will. .
I will be a person who (at her eightieth birthday party) will be joined by my friends and family, with my children and grandchildren sitting around the four-tiered cake. They will say that I am still a dreamer with a butterfly mind. .
My most important future contribution to others will be that I will make sexual education a must, so that kids in the future can get proper education about sexuality. .

I will stop procrastinating and start working on:

  • Not asking for pity, because it doesn’t become me.
  • Changing the way I live my life, biorythm-wise.
  • Thinking even further outside the box creatively.

I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:

  • Not being afraid to talk about sex in a healthy way.
  • Seeing through the bullshit in the world of sex.
  • Being open about my life and dealing with the consequences.

I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life:

  • Healthier eating.
  • More moments of silence and relaxation.
  • Focussing on the good and great and amazing moments.
  • Not asking for pity.

~

In a way, it feels like I`m reading the words of a different person. But then again, I`m still the girl who wants to enjoy life through the lens of a good book. My life`s journey is still creativity in motion, and I still want to sit in front of the four-tiered cake on my eightieth birthday party to hear all those glorious words from my friends and family.

I guess it`s knowing what state I was in six months ago. Dad was ill, mum was tired and I was deeply unhappy with life. I needed help, but I didn`t realize that I could turn it around.

Six months later.

I`m sitting in front of the computer I share with my flatmate, in my living room, in Essex. Essex, in the UK, where I`d been dying to move to since I was 17. My friends are a train ride away, I live in a lovely city, and I feel… lighter, somehow. Brighter.

Sure, I still have my down moments. I mean, I fucking moved to an entirely new country. It took months to prepare this. And I`m quite exhausted! I get a hollow feeling in my chest sometimes, just thinking… “Fuck. I`m here. What do I do?”

But I`m here. I`m actually here. And isn`t that fucking grand? I`ve already done more in the past month than I did in the twenty-one years and six months that came before it.

I`m LIVING.

And I thought it was time to adjust the mission accordingly. So, here I go.

~

I am at my best when I`m happy, writing, in the company of friends, just wandering around town, learning, discovering…. .
I will try to prevent times when I come down from a huge high and feel that thud in my chest that tells me I should be unhappy. .
I will enjoy my work by finding employment where I can work creatively, type so fast that my hands nearly fall off, make stuff happen with my hands.

I will find enjoyment in my personal life through hanging out with my friends, loving and drinking and kissing and hugging and dancing until I feel dizzy. Reading until I get so engrossed in the story, it becomes part of me…
I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as writing, poetry, creativity, listening, being a friend, laughing…
I can do anything I set my mind to. I will start my own small company..
My life’s journey is creativity in motion. I`m doing it for me, and for everyone who`s ever felt the way I felt when I started out my blog. I`m doing it because it`s a beautiful journey that I want to take. The results are a harder, better, faster, stronger me. .
I will be a person who My friends, my husband/wife, children, family… I would like them to say that I never stopped believing that I could do it. That I`m still a creative butterfly, with a wicked sense of humor. .
My most important future contribution to others will be is that I will strive for a better sexual education for my children and my children`s children. .

I will stop procrastinating and start working on:

  • writing more, and finally getting started on my book.
  • taking charge and taking the steps that I want to take in life.
  • learning even more, absorbing knowledge like a sponge.

I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:

  • Willpower
  • Creativity
  • A daredevil attitude

I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life:

  • Eat healthier and improve my fitness.
  • Practice my breathing and take up Tantra.
  • Read and write. Always read and write.
  • Surround myself with lovely, beautiful souls.

~

Wrapping up this post with a quote…

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart.” (Carl Jung)

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. heathercoleatvaginaantics

     /  August 1, 2012

    Your mission statement has inspired me. What a brilliant idea! GENIUS! xoxo

    Reply
  2. That is so beautiful and inspiring! Thanks so much for sharing it. Will have to start thinking about my own mission statement soon.

    Reply
  3. I love that you have revisited this and I hope you remind yourself daily of what a wonderful woman you truly are.

    Xxx

    Reply

Whisper to me

