Magazines, Women And Questions About Change

There’s been something niggling in my brain for a while.

It came up again tonight, as I scouted teh webz for a place to possibly do a guest post for. My eye fell on Scarlet Magazine, a smart glossy for women about sex. Yes, an actual one, that doesn’t make it sound like women are only concerned with diet and the life of Angelina Jolie.

I was miffed to bits when I discovered that it had gone into liquidation two years ago.

It’s not the only magazine that isn’t around anymore. Harlot seems to have vanished and just last year, Filament quit publication. I have no knowledge of other magazines such as these, but the fact that there are slim to none around at my local WH’s tells me enough.

I have taken to buying Attitude, Gay Times and DIVA because they are the only magazines that dare to speak about sex and not make a horrible fuss about it.

The Vagenda has regular features on women’s magazines these days and in my opinion, they are completely right to take the piss out of them.

Case in point is their dissection of an article by Claudia Connell on why funny women don’t make good partners. Ms Connell is basically promoting not being yourself to a person you’re romantically interested in, telling us that “sitting in virtual silence, flicking your hair and laughing uproariously at his gags will leave them wanting more”.

I will not elaborate on this (fucking ridiculous) article, because it’s not my point. The point is that I feel women’s magazines these days do not fulfill the need for an honest perspective on sex and relationships. Let alone cater to the female gaze, which Filament did quite excellently.

We need a magazine with substance. We need articles that pique the interests of all walks of life and we need something more than just your standard buff stud.

Now, I would like to start a discussion in the comments. So, please, feel free to brainstorm, emote or rant all over the comment area.

xoxo

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. heathercoleatvaginaantics

     /  September 12, 2012

    I’ve given up trying to find magazines (hardcopy) that talk honestly about real life sex that aren’t disguised with “how to get your man” crap. Since you’ve mention three in your post, I’m going to see if I can find them at the bookstore. I remember my mother freaking out when I bought a Cosmo as a teen, and I chalked her up to being a crazy feminist. But if my daughter bought one today (thank goodness she’s only three) I’d throw a fit too. Authentic relationships of any sort are NOT found in Cosmo.

    Reply
    • You might not be able to find them anymore. Filament’s become a treasured thing to have since it’s apparently really rare now.

      Reply
  2. You gotta remember that print is a dying business, advertisers would rather spend their money online. No advertisers, means no magazines.

    Reply

Whisper to me

