Depressing Bagel Thursday

I knew I’d made a mistake as soon as I caught the eye of the lady behind the counter. She looked like she wanted to kill me. Like, actually come from behind the counter and murder me horribly. I noted that I would love a drink, and she told me to sit down.

A drink and a bagel. That’s what I was going to have. I order a Diet Coke and a ham and cheese bagel. While waiting, I open my new issue of Attitude, bought entirely on the basis that this is The Sex Issue and I like a bit of sex with my bagels. As is one’s wont.

It’s a pretty depressing place to be sat reading Attitude though. Michael Buble plays in the background and when my bagel eventually arrives, I mentally balk. A massive, thick slice of ham and grated cheese. It’s a bagel, but it makes me sad. It arrives with a regular Coke.

To make matters worse, the cash machine isn’t working.

But never mind, I think.

I’ve had a good day so far. I managed to bring a whopping eleven books back to the library (with a total of one read), handed in my CV at a lot of places and got my issue of Attitude with Caitlin Moran doing the How Gay Are You? test.

But yeah. You know. I wish the bagel was a bit better. Actually, I wish I hadn’t gone in there in the first place and paid 4.75 quid for a Regular Coke and a bagel that tasted of depression and lost hopes and dreams.

What I’m getting to? Because there is a point to this rant?

Yes, there is.

Life’s fucking expensive. Food, expensive. Books, expensive. Even magazines, expensive. Everything costs too much. Seriously, two quid for a fucking Coke?

Even things that help you save money cost too much. I will never forget the day that I came home with a carrier bag from Tesco that cost four quid because it was designed by Orla Kiely.

I spend too much. I am the first to admit that. I spend too much in a way too expensive world. And I never not manage to piss myself off because of that. Tomorrow, I’m clearing up my room and donating books and clothes to charity.

Possibly to make room for more tat.

 

Leave a comment

Whisper to me

