I Can’t Sleep

The sheets feel cold.

My back uncovered.

No arms wrapped around me.

Alone.

Toss and turn.

Frightened of the big bad dark.

I want to touch,

hold,

feel.

Warmth and comfort.

Love words at the bite of early dawn.

Holding hands.

To not be restless.

To not fear the ghostly night.

To feel my body resting at last.

I can’t sleep.

I can’t sleep without.

I can’t sleep without knowing 

that I’m not alone in this bed.

That when I wake up,

you are there.

And I can’t sleep.

I can’t sleep without.

I can’t sleep without you.

~

©Jillian Boyd, 2012

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Poppy St Vincent

     /  September 20, 2012

    I love this and I know just how this feels, I am going through this right now.

    Reply

Whisper to me

