Maybe It’s Because I’m A Londoner…

I have been away in the ether for a couple of days, for which I apologize. But not entirely. Emotionally, I’ve been through the wringer, but I came out better.

And with a brand new flat to boot.

Yes, darlings, I am on the move.

To London.

Fuck yeah.

I can not believe how much I lucked out. In the space of one day, I managed to find a flat in the place that I have called home for four years now. And now it’s actually my home.

My love affair with London started in 08. I arrived late in the evening, with my parents in tow. We were there under the guise of celebrating their honeymoon (after they got hitched for the second time). As the taxi drove down Euston Road, I was unimpressed. It looked too gray. It looked like Brussels, which was the place I wanted to escape so desperately.

But I don’t know exactly what happened. On the last night, I sobbed into a pillow and told my mum I never wanted to leave.

It was the start of many visits, and the start of a revolution in the head.

And now I get to wake up in the city I love. The Big Smoke, where I can grow and blossom like a flower in the cracks of the pavement.

Right, that might be a bit of poetic license. But the thing is, I do feel like a Londoner. I feel a part of this madness. I’m so in love with this city, it’s almost maddening.

Come soon, Sunday. So I can fly home…

 

xxx

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awesome! I hope you enjoy it. I remember that same feeling when I first came to Manchester.

    Reply

Whisper to me

