More Who Are You Meme Madness

Sunday Stealing 2.0 continues, with the second part of the Who Are You? Meme.

This week, it’s about growing up. You know, that fun stuff you do all the time and that. Expect snark, as per usual.

Are you sitting comfortably?

Good.

Let’s begin.

~

15. How would you describe your childhood in general?

In general as a thing that happened that was not at all nice.

16. What is your earliest memory?

Toss up between being pushed face first in the sandbox and refusing to let go of the jungle gym because I was scared I would fall on my arse.

17. How much schooling have you had?

Enough to make me realize that I was wasting my life learning things I wasn’t going to use in my adult life. I mean, it’s not like I’m going to get cornered by a beggar who will only let me live if I explain the Pythagorean theorem to him in detail.

18. Did you enjoy school?

I enjoyed bits of it. I was given morsels of things that I wanted to know, and it sparked my hunger to strike out and learn on my own.

19. Stop and count, Since you were born until today; how many homes have you lived in?

Five.

20. While growing up, did you have any role models?

I don’t really know. I suppose I didn’t. I have plenty of them now, but I didn’t really know what I want (then again, does anyone?) when I was growing up, so I had no-one as an example. Right now, I look up to many people in many walks of life. Strong businesswomen, like Karren Brady and Hilary Devey. Writers from Danny Wallace to my friend Charlotte Stein. Gender pioneers like Kate Bornstein, sex educators like Barbara Carrellas. People who’s vision sparks something in my heart and soul and mind.

21. While growing up, how did you get along with the other members of your family?

I don’t think I did very well. I was awkward, with a severe case of word vomit. I got along famously with Nan Boyd and my Uncle, who lived with her. But I don’t know about the rest. I remember hating my niece when she came along, and now I admire her and love her to bits. We get along brilliantly, despite me being six years her senior.

22. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I think I wanted to be a hairdresser, like my niece. She had her own business, which I think secretly sparked something in me. I still have the desire to own my own business, but the idea of me being a hairdresser went out the window a long time ago.

23. What were your favorite activities 3 years ago?

I shit you not, I have no clue.

24. As a child, what kinds of personality traits did you display?

Ehm… traits that people didn’t really understand. I was very wise beyond my years, because I picked up stuff from the world around me. I had no qualms about being an adult, but being a kid was very hard.

25. As a child, were you popular?

Hell to the no!

26. When and with whom was your first kiss?

My first kiss was very recent. It was in October last year, with a dear friend of mine, who went on to tell me some home truths about my life.

27. Describe any influences in your past that led you to do the things you do today.

Skipping this question and moving swiftly on, because this is quite personal to me. If you ever get the chance to ask me in person, I might answer though.

28. What’s next?

Life, lived to the fullest. Love, with all my heart. Writing until my fingers bleed and onwards from that.

And possibly dinner.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Whisper to me

