Oh Blanche, Dear Blanche

As you may have gathered from reading my better half’s post, I’ve not been well. Therefore, I’ve not been able to blog. Which is really fucking frustrating if you’re one of those blogger types who kinda does this on a daily basis.

I’ve had a few of what Julie Powell calls “Blanche Days”. I don’t know the exact meaning of this, but I’ve re-defined it as a day where you are feeling so incredibly crap you may as well be dead. Unfortunately, this all took place at ILB’s house, which resulted in him putting his nursing hat on for a couple of days. Thankfully, he is the most wonderful and loving person I know, so it’s mainly thanks to his good care that I am now sitting behind this laptop and stretching my fingers on the keyboard again.

Let me explain.

I’ve not been feeling all that well for a couple of weeks now. But after I got back from The Distraction Club, these feelings intensified. It manifested in a tummy bug (as the GP put it so eloquently) and I was on the fritz for a couple of days, unable to lift a finger without being in pain.

The overriding feeling is stress. I’m still getting used to this new situation of living with loads of people. I’m still in that part of my relationship where I think I’ll fuck up grandly. And I’m still adjusting to the tempo of London.

That all causes a hell of a lot of pain in my body. Add to that the fact that, indeed, winter is coming and I am not good with this whole cold thing.

Hence, Blanche Days.

It’s not been the easiest of weeks for ILB and myself. But both of us thankfully got through it. And I learned a lot of lesson, number one being to get my priorities straight. So I am.

Thank you, my love, for being such a wonderful man.

And thank you guys for sticking wid dis shit.

xoxo

Leave a comment

Whisper to me

