A Visit From AmyBeth Inverness

*knock knock*

Oh! What’s that?

Oh blimey. I nearly forgot. We have a guest today! Gather round, readers, because I want to introduce you to someone!

Today, I’m hosting one of my dear friends and noted colleague on the upcoming Felt Tips anthology, AmyBeth Inverness.

AmyBeth Inverness, all greenlike.

I’ll let her bio explain.

A writer by birth, a redhead by choice, and an outcast of Colorado by temporary necessity, AmyBeth Inverness is a prolific creator of Science Fiction and Romance.  With short stories coming out in two different anthologies in 2012, she can usually be found tapping away at her laptop, writing the next novel or procrastinating by posting a SciFi Question of the Day on Facebook. When she’s not writing, she’s kept very busy making aluminum foil hats and raising two energetic kids and many pets with her husband in their New England home.

She’s got some tasty teachings for you….

~

Enjoy a Little Vanilla with Your Hot Fudge by AmyBeth Inverness

I love the idea that aficionados of BDSM and other so-labeled kinky sexual practices use the word vanilla to describe the opposite of kinky. Not normal, or boring, but vanilla.

Vanilla tastes good. Vanilla, even unadorned, can be exquisite. Vanilla, adorned with some tantalizing flavour or texture can be superb.

Ben & Jerry’s used to label this “World’s Best Vanilla” which it certainly is.

My husband knows how much I love chocolate. In fact, he often overestimates just how much I love chocolate. I have been served up a huge scoop of chocolate ice cream, on top of a slab of chocolate brownie, smothered in hot fudge and topped with chocolate whipped cream.

Sound good? Well, the reality was much different. It was simply overwhelming. I could only eat a little bit of it. After a few bites it was no longer enjoyable.

Mrs. Richardson’s has always been my favourite.

As much as I love my hot fudge, I hardly ever have it on chocolate ice cream. Peppermint, strawberry… or even vanilla are far more enjoyable than chocolate overload!

The fun part about being in a loving, long-term relationship is having a basis on which to build a fulfilling and creative sex life. For some couples, vanilla sex is all they ever need or desire. On the opposite end of the spectrum, we see (or read about) lovers whose sexcapades rival any performance of Cirque de Soleil.

But more does not always equate to better. For a couple (or a ménage…) wanting to spice up their sex life, buying the head-to-toe dominatrix outfit with whips and real handcuffs is probably not the best idea. Curious about bondage? Try a silk scarf. Wondering whether there’s any truth to the pain as pleasure idea? Introduce spanking into your foreplay. Buy a book. Buy some whipped cream!

The ideal is to find what it is that you and your lover(s) enjoy. So go ahead and try out that hot fudge… but keep the vanilla ice cream handy too.

Hot fudge and vanilla is even better when it’s shared.

What do you like with your hot fudge?
~

AmyBeth’s short story The Peanut Gallery Rebellion is entered in the America’s Next Author competition! Please read it, and if you like it, click VOTE. It does not require a log in to do either. If you are feeling especially generous, leaving a review is also greatly appreciated.

 

~

Thanks a bunch, AB!

If your curiosity for my lovely friend hasn’t been sated, do visit her website. She can also be found on Twitter, where she is @USNessie. You can catch AmyBeth (with her story In The Closet) and many other extraordinary authors (including yours truly, with my story Mark Me) in Felt Tips, the world’s first office supplies erotica charity anthology, on sale from next month.

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Hi, AmyBeth! It’s so nice to see you here! I agree that the term “vanilla” is a misnomer. Vanilla is often the most perfect flavor. Homemade apple pie anyone?? The only thing that kind of pie needs is a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I strive to use the word “traditional” when describing non-kinky sexual relationships, and I think you have a great point. Great sex is about finding what works for the people involved. Labels like kinky or vanilla are really only that… labels.

    Reply
  2. Hi Heather! I wondered if I’d run into you while I’m out an about this week. ❤

    Jilly, thank you so much for having me! But I have to confess… hubby ate all the vanilla ice cream and I just might stick a spoon directly into that jar of hot fudge lol!

    Reply
  1. Gosh Darn It All to Heck | AmyBeth Inverness

Whisper to me

