Seeking Thrills And Spills – Kristina Lloyd Guest Posts

We’ve got a guest on the blog today! I always love it when that happens.

Today, I’d like to introduce you to Kristina Lloyd, here to promote her corker of a new book, Thrill Seeker. She lives in Brighton, loves the seaside, is incredibly smart and one of those dangerously talented people whose books will leave you thinking “Oh no she did not just go there.” But she goes there, and by God, it is good.

She would like to make it known that she likes writing erotic thrillers, which is what she’s talking about today.

Ms. Lloyd, if you will?

 

Suited up...

In Susanna Moore’s novel, In The Cut, just before Frannie Avery is anally penetrated by Detective Malloy over a desk in an office at the cop shop, Malloy removes his handcuffs from his belt. Malloy is investigating the brutual murder of a woman in Frannie’s New York neighbourhood, and Frannie suspects him of being implicated. Malloy slides the handcuffs noisily across the desk. Frannie narrates: ‘I looked at them. I was suddenly aroused, worried that they were not for me, that he had taken them off his belt for comfort.’

In The Cut, described by the NYT as ‘a ferociously uninhibited erotic thriller’ is one of my favourite books. It isn’t erotica but oh, it is seriously sexy and dark! Bristling with tension and steeped in an atmosphere of danger and uncertainty, the narrative charts Frannie’s affair with Malloy, a ‘heartless’ man from the mean, macho world of the Homicide Squad. For me, the handcuff moment neatly encapsulates the eroticism arising from the collision of Frannie and Malloy’s worlds, and Frannie’s desire to go beyond what is safe and acceptable.

She wants the handcuffs but she’s experienced and self-aware, smart enough to know that a bit of bondage equipment is, in itself, no great shakes. What’s both troubling and thrilling is that Frannie, an intelligent, liberal, confident college tutor, wants this rugged, masculine man who deals with death and violence on a daily basis; who’s frequently evasive, dishonest, sexually domineering; and who exhibits an attitude that’s often casually racist, sexist and homophobic. Whether Frannie wants Malloy because of, or in spite of this, is impossible to say. Either way, while bluestocking Frannie is captivated by her crude cop, she doesn’t trust him. And the fear inherent in her not truly knowing him or what he’s capable of is part of the buzz.

Fifty Shades of Grey has brought erotic romance into the mainstream and while I appreciate sex + love is a heady mix for many readers, I’d love to see romance lose its current stranglehold on the erotic, and offer up some space for that other potent combination: sex + danger.

My latest book, Thrill Seeker, is described by my publisher, Black Lace, as a ‘sexy and controversial erotic thriller’. It has a lot in common with my second book, Asking for Trouble, written many years ago. Both books centre on women who embark on a sexual adventure with an enigmatic man who’s likely to be trouble. Beth (Asking for Trouble) and Natalie (Thrill Seeker) starting out tentative and curious, aware they have sexually submissive longings that won’t be satisfied by a vanilla future. All too soon, they’re on dangerous and potentially destructive paths. Caught up in dark erotic passions, my protagonists are no longer in control, something which simultaneously compels and horrifies them. They know they should stop taking risks but they can’t.

As an author of erotica, I prefer exploring sex and desire through lenses other than the romantic. I’m more interested in the erotic journeys of individual women than I am in the development of coupled relationships; more fascinated by how we find our way towards our own sexual authenticity in a culture which impedes self-understanding at every turn; more interested in lustful obsession than in love. I like the ‘bad boys’ in fiction but I don’t necessarily want them to be redeemed or tamed, and incorporated into a traditional happy ending. Some of them are simply too bad to be long-term bed partners. They are the ride, not the destination; the rollercoaster, not the harbour. So while my female leads will be transformed by their experiences with these guys, it doesn’t follow that they’ll then want to go skipping off into the sunset with them. For me, a thriller narrative offers so much more scope and freedom to my female characters than a romance narrative ever could. Thrillers aren’t about getting the guy. That might happen, yes, but it’s not compulsory.

Thrill Seeker and Asking for Trouble are character-driven erotic thrillers. They deal with pleasure and danger in suspenseful narratives, and focus strongly on the emotional and psychological. Thrill Seeker has a romantic backstory that drives and disrupts the present-day narrative, and a plot that plays with the illicit and the illegal. Natalie shares her fantasy of being kidnapped with a man she meets through online dating. Before she’s even seen a photo of his face, she messages him to say:

I wish I could turn my fantasy into a proper story for you but I can’t. In my mind, it’s just a jumble of bondage, blindfolds and gags; of being held captive and used by a stranger or, if I’m being honest, by several strangers.

 

I like the idea of being afraid and not knowing what will happen next. Someone else is running the show, a man who enjoys my fear and distress. It’s impossible to truly fantasise that part because I’m creating it in my head so I know what’s about to happen. But I suppose that’s the emotion I’m chasing here. With sex in real life, not just in fantasy, the more authentic the danger feels, the hotter it is for me.

 

And there’s the one of the paradoxes explored in the book: if Natalie wants to roleplay a fantasy where the danger feels real, who’s to say it isn’t real?

 

If you want to know more, you can read about Thrill Seeker here and check out a couple of sexy excerpts. To compete for one of six signed paperbacks, enter my Goodreads giveaway by May 31st!

Thrill Seeker on Kindle UK and paperback :: Asking for Trouble on Kindle UK :: Asking for Trouble on Kindle US

Thrill Seeker will be available in the US and Canada late June.

Kristina Lloyd is the author of four Black Lace novels including the erotic thrillers, Asking for Trouble and her most recent book, Thrill Seeker. Her short stories have featured in numerous anthologies, including several ‘best of’ collections, and her work has been translated into German, Dutch and Japanese. She’s been described as an author who ‘writes sex with a formidable force’ and ‘blends literary and popular styles beautifully’. Kristina has a master’s degree in Twentieth Century Literature and lives in Brighton, UK. Visit her at http://kristinalloyd.co.uk

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kristina, would you be willing to change the ending of Thrill Seeker (which I have yet to read) to HEA in order to see it turned into a film? I KNEW the moment I heard that In The Cut was to become a film that the ending would be changed. Before you answer, think of all that movie dough. $$$$$. What do you think?

    Reply
  1. Erotic Thrillers « Kristina Lloyd

Whisper to me

