In The Flesh And Out The Spirit

The four of us walked down the stairs and into the Alley Cat Bar And Club. My first thought was that it looked way tinier than I’d reckoned. It immediately put me at ease, because surely if the place was that small, fewer people would come and see me bumble.

It was my first erotic reading. At the first edition of In The Flesh London, no less. ILB held my hand and reassured me that it was going to be tip top. He ran over my story with me, telling me when to pause and when to be slow. Bunny White (fresh from The States) and Dorian Silver were also there, offering support and being incredibly good eggs about it all. Before the show, we’d met up and gone to Bella Italia to eat, drink and talk geeky stuff.

I was the third and last to read, so I had some time to listen to Liz Coldwell read about a hot werewolf and KD Grace talking dirty about breakfast. And then it was my turn.

I got up there, introduced myself and started reading my story.

And I fucking nailed it.

I think.

Afterwards, I did need a stiff drink. The event concluded with a performance by Moorita Encantada, who teased a snippet of a burlesque play she and KD collaborated on.

Later on, we ended up at FOPP, getting DVDs for ourselves. Even later on, we ended up on Westminster Bridge, where I cried because I didn’t fathom how the night could have gone so well.

Disappointingly, no dinosaurs were spotted on Westminster Bridge. The Nestene Conciousness was also nowhere to be seen.

Anyway. Here’s to many more of those readings. Skoll, I say.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Well done! I’m glad it went well for you. It must be nerve wracking reading aloud in front of a lot of people.

    Reply
  1. Peace Out | Lady Laid Bare

Whisper to me

