Writing Blog Hop Interview

The lovely Marie Rebelle asked me (ever so politely; she even DM’ed me specifically to ask) if I’d like to be tagged in an author blog hop. And considering I’m writing this introduction right now, it’s safe to assume that I agreed.

At the end, I’m supposed to be tagging three other (aspiring) authors so they can, in turn, answer the questions as well – this way, the hop keeps going.

Right. Off we go then.

1, What are you working on right now?
Well, currently I’m keeping busy with my day job! I’m taking kind of a break from writing short stories, but knowing me, that’s not going to last very long. It’s just a bit of recharging the brainbox, is all.
I kind of, tentatively, am scribbling down bits and bobs for future stories, but nothing concrete. I’d like to try my hand at a novella in the coming months…
2, How does it differ from other work in its genre?

To be honest, I wouldn’t know. I’d say my stuff is very “me” – the dialogue resembles the way I talk with people, the settings are not very elaborate and it’s nearly always set in London. I just tend to roll with whatever is bubbling in my head; scenarios that make me smile.

Bits and bobs from other works tend to float in as inspiration though. I might think of something I read somewhere else, and then go “But what if?” and riff from there. I don’t know if that makes sense.

3, Why do you write what you do?
In the words of Norman Lovett as Holly in Red Dwarf….
It’s a laugh, ‘innit?
I write erotic fiction because I like writing erotic fiction. It’s a genre that fits me, it’s a genre I like to play with. I’d like to experiment with other genres too, but erotic fiction is a genre that just works for me. And it’s FUN. It’s just fucking fun to write.
I don’t write erotica to turn myself on. I write erotica because I can. If you get turned on by it, that’s brilliant – but if it also makes you laugh, cry, giggle, snort, say “ah, yep, that…”, that’s even more brilliant.
4, How does your writing process work?

Writing process??

 

No, seriously. I look at a call for submissions, have a little brainstorm and start writing if something comes to mind. When I finish, I send it to my other half for editing, we bat it back and forth until I sit at my computer, shouting “CAN I SEND IT NOW IS IT GOOD WHY IS THIS SHITE.”

And then he calms me down and tells me to send it.

 

I don’t yet know who to tag…. If you want to be tagged, just let me know!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Whisper to me

